Drug Store Haul feat Katy Perry Shatter Polish


Today I will be reviewing products that I found in the local drug store. I have avoided buying any kind of beauty products from the drug store most of my life, usually going for the more “high end products”. I have always had a “you get what you pay for mentality”, but recently I have been experimenting with more and more drug store products. I am still learning my way around the products at CVS and Target so we can learn together!

In this post I will be reviewing the following products:

– Tresemmé Waterless Foam Shampoo

– Catwalk Curls Rock 5, Curls Amplifier

– Monistat Chafing Relief Powder-Gel (as a primer)

-Revlon PhotoReady Foundation

– Milani Liquif’eye eye liner in blue

– OPI Katy Perry Shatter Collection

Tresemmé Waterless Foam Shampoo

  This stuff has been AMAZING! When you have children or a busy schedule, sometimes it’s hard to give your hair all the love that it deserves. This stuff is perfect for those days where your hair isn’t looking so fresh and great. It’s even great to use when it’s clean. It gives your hair a really glossy appearance and soft texture. I highly recommend trying this product!

Catwalk Curls Rock 5, Curls Amplifier

I really, really want to like this product but I have mixed feelings. When it is used right, it’s great. However, “used right” seems to mean using it when your hair is wet but not to wet, and also taking time to scrunch your hair up a certain way. If you use it when your hair is too dry or use too much product then your hair gets a very crunchy texture. If you use it when your hair is too wet, then it’s as if you didn’t use any product at all. The only reason I purchased this product was as a quick solution to my out of control, curly hair. My biggest complaint is the packaging. It’s so hard to get anything out! In my opinion, the packaging is difficult enough to keep me from buying this product again. If time or tricky packaging isn’t a problem for you then give this product a try.

Monistat Chafing Relief Powder-Gel (as a primer)

Okayyyyy call me crazy but this works incredibly as primer! I was a little iffy about buying chafing gel and putting it on my face, but this stuff works wonders. Not to mention how inexpensive it is! Just a little bit goes a long way so I have the feeling it will last awhile.

Revlon PhotoReady Foundation

This foundation provides very good coverage! However, it doesn’t over a wide enough selection in colors and I found that even their lightest shade is too dark! It stays on a fair amount of time but not quiet as long as the Revlon Colorstay. This is a good foundation and if you can find your color in it, then it is definitely worth a try!

 Milani Liquif’eye eye liner in blue

Very good quality eye liner for such a low price! It is long lasting, very creamy, and doesn’t smudge! The shade of blue is beautiful and I noticed it really made my blue eyes stand out. It’s not to dark or bright, so if you want just a slight pop of color, then this is perfect for you! My only complaint is that I wish it was a pencil instead of  the “automatic propel”. That is just my personal preference though, because I prefer pencils.

 OPI Katy Perry Shatter Collection

I was extremely excited when this nail polish first came out! If you haven’t heard of the “shatter” polish, it is supposed to be a polish that cracks (see above picture) when applied. This collection has beautiful colors and I couldn’t wait to try them out! The colors shown above from left to right are: “The One That Got Away”, “Not Like the Movies”, “Teenage Dream”, and “Last Friday Night”. I had very high expectations of this collection, but unfortunately, I was slightly let down. The only color that applies as it looks in the bottle is “The One That Got Away”. You have to apply several layers of “Not Like the Movies” and “Teenage Dream” to achieve the color that you see above. “Last Friday Night” does NOT look how it looks in the bottle at all. It is almost a translucent glitter with a slight blue tint. The black “shatter” color only shatters well on certain colors. It seems to do the best on “Teenage Dream” , “Last Friday Night”, and occasionally “Not Like the Movies”. I have yet to find away to get it to shatter on “The One That Got Away”. It just clumps up and looks like a black blob. For some reason the black shatter polish is very clumpy and sticky. It might just be my polish but I am not sure. See below for swatches. If you play around with these colors and use base coats and clear top coats then you can make them look beautiful! However, being a mommy and a student, I don’t have that much time to play around with them the way I would like to. The colors I would buy again are “Teenage Dream” and “Not Like the Movies”. They are beautiful colors!

PROS:

-Beautiful colors (when played around with)

– Easy way to get “unique” nails at home

-They peel off instead of chipping

CONS:

-They peel off (yes this is also a con lol)

-The colors don’t look the same as they do in the bottle

– It takes some time and effort to make them look nice

-The “shatter” color doesn’t always shatter

OVERALL OPINION:

Great if you have the time to play around with it, not so great if you are often on the run!

Please excuse the messy paint job 🙂

About thebeautyconfession

for business inquiries contact eposey2287@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Beauty, cosmetics, Milani, Nails, OPI, Reviews, Tresemme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Drug Store Haul feat Katy Perry Shatter Polish

  1. Leah says:

    Totally never thought I would like Teenage Dream but it looks so fabulous on your nails and perfect for this holiday season!

  2. ugg says:

    I’m certainly definitely bookmarking this url and sharing it with my pals. You’re going to be getting lots of people to your internet site from me!

  3. This design is wicked! Before you purchase figure out how to keep a reader amused. Involving the wit along with your videos, We were almost transferred to start my own blog (well, almost??HaHa!) Well done.

  4. thank you for sharing this. this is very good informations i like your website.

  5. Do you have already setup an admirer page on Facebook ?.;-,,

  6. Nice work for a second time. Thanks

Leave a Reply

