August Birchbox First Impressions and Review


If you haven’t heard of beauty subscription boxes, then you are missing out on something super fun! After enjoying Ipsy for 9 months, I decided to give Birchbox a try. I was super impressed, and excited with the first Birchbox that I received last June. However, July’s box left something to be desired, and August’s box has been no better! Take a look below.

IMG_0789IMG_0790From left to right, my box contained the following:

-OC8® Professional Mattifying Gel- It’s a gel used to give the face a matte look. The thing is, my skin is extremely dry. Typically anything that gives a matte appearance to my skin emphasizes the dry patches on it. I received two tiny sample packets of it. I have sensitive skin so it’s going to be difficult to see if this breaks out my skin after only a few uses.

-Whish Exfoliating Body Wash- It’s a decent sample size, and smells nice. I’m excited to see if it actually exfoliates well.

-Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper- This is a serum for curly hair that’s supposed to make your hair look less frizzy, and your curls look nice. I wish this sample was bigger, but since it’s a hair product it should be easier to get an idea of how well it works.

-Whish Hair Inhibiting Deodorant Swipes- This is again a tiny sample packet, but they’re supposed to be a deodorant that slows down the growth of under arm hair.

-CAILYN Cosmetics Gel Eyeliner- It’s just a black gel eyeliner, that comes with a neat tapered eyeliner brush. I wouldn’t say that I’m especially excited about this, but I can never have too many eyeliners.

So overall this box was super disappointing. I don’t see myself as picky or being hard to please. I love trying new things, but none of these things excite me. It might have something to do with the size of the samples. Ipsy usually sends out full size products or deluxe samples. I’m giving Birchbox a couple more months, but for now I would NOT recommend them.

If you are looking for a great subscription box then I would recommend trying Ipsy! I have NEVER had a single box from them that I didn’t love. I will have a full review for them soon. You can sign up for Ipsy at http://www.ipsy.com/?refer=u-h051cyhv1f1jmtu

About thebeautyconfession

for business inquiries contact eposey2287@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty Advice, Birchbox, Body Care, cosmetics, Hair, Ipsy, Makeup, Reviews, Subscription Boxes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

