Are beauty subscription boxes worth it?


I remember when hardly anyone had heard of beauty subscription boxes. I used to get so many questions on my boxes when I posted my monthly pictures showing what products I received. I think I’ve posted just about every Birchbox and Ipsy that I’ve ever gotten to my Instagram (my Instagram is sweetcatastrophexo, a nod to Something Corporate, the BEST BAND EVER). The questions were always the typical ones about pricing, when it ships, etc, but most of all I got questions about the actual products and if it was “worth it.”

Here’s the thing, y’all. I am a self-confessed, makeup addict. I love makeup, and everything about it. Getting beauty products sent to me EVERY MONTH, like Christmas, is a dream come true. For someone like me, it is 100% worth it. However, it’s not for everyone, and that’s okay. Some girls aren’t into makeup, and some already have a solid beauty routine that they want to stick with. One thing you have to remember with these subscription boxes are meant to makeup you step out of your comfort zone a bit. It’s not always going to be brands that you can go get at Sephora or Target, or brands that you’ve even heard of for that matter. Honestly, some of the best makeup that I’ve tried has been from indie brands.

You’re not always going to get sent black eyeliner, or neutral eyeshadows. Sometimes you might get a purple or silver eyeliner, hot pink lipstick, or bright teal eye shadow, especially with Ipsy. If you are experimental with your makeup, then this is something that is fun and exciting but if you’re uncomfortable with trying new colors then you might not like some of the products you receive. I’ll admit that I’ve gotten colors where I’m like “whoa, I don’t know if I can pull this off.” But to me, that’s part of the fun.

I can honestly say that I have never gotten a box from Birchbox or Ipsy where I felt like it wasn’t worth the $10 or that I wasted money. Even if I only like half the products that I receive, it’s still worth the $10 to me. I really think that it’s just a matter of how comfortable you are with makeup or if you are comfortable with trying new things. The best advice that I can give you is to look around at what other people have gotten in the past before you sign up, and to just be open minded if you do decide to try them. Just because you haven’t heard of the brand, doesn’t mean it’s not amazing 🙂

If you have any questions, please leave them below and I will try my best to answer 🙂

About thebeautyconfession

for business inquiries contact eposey2287@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty Advice, Birchbox, cosmetics, Ipsy, Subscription Boxes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

