Ipsy vs. Birchbox Round TWO!


A little over a year ago I wrote an in-depth post about the pros and cons between Ipsy and Birchbox, and which box I would recommend if I had to pick one. You can see that blog post here: https://beautyaddictconfessions.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/ipsy-vs-birchbox/

Since then, I have noticed slight changes that have made me have a change in heart. First of all, Birchbox has become INCREDIBLE these last few months. Birchbox used to be the subscription that I would always drop if I was trying to save on money, but there is no way that I could give up my Birchbox now! One thing that was an issue for me with them before, was that they sent such tiny samples. I am by no means greedy, but before the samples were roughly the size of the free ones you can get at Sephora. My issue with that, is that when I am sampling skin care or hair care, it’s hard to see how much of a difference the product makes if I can only use it once or twice.

The last few months, Birchbox has sent samples that are deluxe to full size. Deluxe samples, are basically miniature versions of the product, and perfect for deciding whether you like something or not. Birchbox tends to send “higher end” products then Ipsy does, and it’s nice getting to try out luxury products before spending the money on them. Birchbox also still continues to have the superior point system. Every review that you make on the products you receive, gives you points. You also receive points from people signing up under you, or ordering products off their site. Every 100 points equals $10. If you review products every time you get them and refer people, those points will rack up fast. They have an AMAZING selection of things that you can buy with your points.

Ipsy on the other hand, does not have a good point system in my opinion. It’s similar to Birchbox’s, that you get points for reviewing products and referring people, however they have a pretty bad selection of points rewards. I’ve been sitting on roughly 2000 points for about 6 months, and they have yet to post a points reward that I am actually interested in. Whenever they do, it’s usually sold out immediately and never restocked. I am a total makeup addict, so for me to say that I don’t see anything worthy of spending my Ipsy points on, that’s pretty bad. Ipsy has continued to send out quality products, by mostly well known brands. About two months ago, they sent me an eyeshadow that did not work. It did not work wet, or dry, or even after I scratched a hole in the surface. I understand that I may not always like every product that they send, but I was a little irritated that I was sent a product that was unusable. I emailed them, and they responded immediately and sent a new product. Ipsy and Birchbox both have great customer service, I love them both, and can’t imagine to unsubscribing to either of them anytime soon. My only request is that they both stop sending me hand creams, and lotions. Nobody needs that many hand creams and lotions.

I have to say that Birchbox has definitely become my new favorite subscription box, and I hope they continue to send out quality products and deluxe samples. Birchbox and Ipsy are each $10 a month, and usually come mid-month.

You can sign up for Birchbox here: https://www.birchbox.com/invite/x7x92

and you can sign up for Ipsy here:

http://www.ipsy.com/r/2d0x?sid=ipsypoints&cid=general

About thebeautyconfession

for business inquiries contact eposey2287@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Beauty, Beauty Advice, Birchbox, cosmetics, Ipsy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ipsy vs. Birchbox Round TWO!

  1. I too am in love with Birchbox and their store! It’s amazing!

  2. Amber T. says:

    Ipsy has definitely taken a down swing. I cancelled my subscription this week because I was just so tired of their repeat brands.

Leave a Reply

